Leslie A. Williams

Leslie WilliamsI am originally from Ohio, but spent my high school and early college years in South Florida.  I graduated summa cum laude from Charleston Southern University in Charleston, South Carolina, and earned my law degree from Regent University School of Law.  In law school, I served as Presiding Officer of the Honor Council, an Executive Board Member of the Trial Advocacy Board, and a mentor for other law students as part of the Academic Success Program.

My path to practicing law was not “typical.”  In fact, for many years I thought I would not have the ability to do what I felt I was called to do.  But over a decade after I first entered college, I did accomplish that pie-in-the-sky goal and graduated from law school.  Along the way, there were many challenges and several obstacles that both prepared me and delayed my journey to becoming a lawyer.

After two years at the University of Florida, home situations and a sense of patriotism led me to join the U.S.A.F., where I was trained as a military police officer.  First, this position provided me the opportunity to perform security for nuclear weapons and munitions until I soon moved through qualifications and was running our traditional base police force as acting desk sergeant of my unit.  During my time in the Air Force, I was deployed as part of Operations Iraqi and Enduring Freedom.  It was also during this time that I got married, gained custody of my two younger siblings, and became pregnant with my son.

After the birth of my son, I decided to stay at home full-time with him and return to college to finish my bachelor’s degree.  For two years, I remained at home with my son until I decided to return to the work force where I began working as a Child Support Enforcement Agent for the Department of Social Services in North Carolina.  While in North Carolina, I experienced a divorce and living on my own for the first time in many years.  My desire to pursue law was rekindled and I knew that it was my calling in life.  I quickly finished the remaining portion of my bachelor’s degree and entered law school.

Now I utilize the wisdom I gained through the experiences of my life to advocate for my clients.  I know first-hand what it feels like to navigate the court system through difficult times, which allows me a unique understanding into what my clients experience when they come to our firm for help.

My son and I now live in Norfolk, Virginia where we enjoy taking every opportunity to get “away.” Getting away for us can be traveling to the mountains to hike and camp for days at a time, experiencing the arts through theater and museums, or eating our way through local hot spots in the neighborhood.  This past summer, I spent an entire month hiking the Pacific Crest Trail and was able to complete 250 miles before returning to Virginia.  I am also involved in my church, which recently opened a branch in my Norfolk community.  I love to bake, read, sing, sew, watch Star Trek: The Next Generation, play Settlers of Catan, bicycle and long-distance hike…truthfully, I love to do a lot of things and picking my favorite is, well, impossible!

I began my legal career here, at Holcomb Law, P.C., after I was hired as an intern during law school, and upon graduating from law school and passing the Virginia Bar Exam, was hired as a full-time attorney.  I’m excited for our clients to experience the compassion and attention I bring to their situation and look forward to showing them what “You Matter Here” really means.