vote for holcomb law

Vote for Holcomb Law in the Daily Press Best Of 2020 Awards

Holcomb Law is excited to be a participant in the Daily Press Best of 2020 Awards! As you know, we have won this award five years in a row, BUT this year, they’ve changed the rules! Now, ALL law firms compete against each other—not in practice area categories! We are up against some GIANT firms, but we think we can …

How-Do-You-Get-Emancipated-in-Virginia

How Do You Get Emancipated in Virginia?

Legal emancipation means a minor gaining the freedom associated with adulthood. This topic routinely provokes disagreement between children and their parents or guardians. The Commonwealth of Virginia has legal age laws that spell out how a minor can acquire many of the rights that adults enjoy.

holcomb law donates face masks

Masks For Our Community! What Happens When a Plan Changes.

When the pandemic hit, we knew that we might need masks for our clients, so we tried to find some early on. They were hard to come by, but when they came in, we learned from Facebook that a local Oncology practice, certainly essential, was hurting for masks to cover their clients—clients who had no choice but to come to …

free simple will package at holcomb law

Free Simple Will Packages at Holcomb Law!

Holcomb Law is proud to announce that through April we will be offering FREE Simple Will Packages to First Responders, Medical Professionals, and Teachers – with “curbside” service! To make an initial consultation to discuss your Will, please give us a call at 757-656-1000 and we will get it set up for you and discuss the process. We will be …

What Happens If You Refuse a Breathalyzer Test in Virginia?

What Happens If You Refuse a Breathalyzer Test in Virginia?

If you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI in Virginia, the officer will most probably ask you to submit to a Breathalyzer test. Such a test is meant to measure your blood alcohol content (BAC) to show whether you are beyond the state’s legal limit of 0.08 percent. Refusing to submit to a Breathalyzer test at the scene may …

How to Get a Reckless Driving Ticket Reduced in Virginia

How to Get a Reckless Driving Ticket Reduced in Virginia

Virginia Code § 46.2-852 defines reckless driving as driving a vehicle carelessly at a speed or manner that can endanger a person’s life or property. Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia which carries a maximum fine of $2,500.00, jail time of up to 12 months, and could result in the revocation of your driver’s license. In Virginia, …

What are the Penalties for a DUI in VA?

What are the Penalties for a DUI in VA?

Do you go to jail for DUI in Virginia? You are in violation of Virginia Code § 18.2-266 when you drive or operate a motor vehicle in Virginia while your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is 0.08 percent or higher. A first offense DUI in Virginia could include a fine of up to $2,500, a license suspension of up to …

What is the Difference Between a DWI, DUI and DUID in Virginia?

What is the Difference Between a DWI, DUI and DUID in Virginia?

DWI generally refers to Driving While Intoxicated and DUI generally refers to Driving Under the Influence. While some states place a difference between these two terms and make one less serious than the other, Virginia does not. There is no difference between DUI and DWI in Virginia; the terms are used interchangeably. Both terms are covered by the state’s drunk …