Many people are unaware of the potential long-term consequences that can result from a reckless driving charge. Reckless driving is usually defined as speeding above 20 mph or speeding in excess of 80 mph (regardless of the applicable speed limit). However, a large range of dangerous driving behaviors may also be defined as reckless.
The Virginia Code provides “irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.” Thus, things such as following too closely, failure to obey traffic lanes, and drag racing could be defined as reckless driving.
In Virginia, reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor. If you are convicted of a reckless driving charge you can face a fine up to $2,500.00, license suspension for up to 6 months, jail time up to 12 months, and 6 demerit points on your license. In addition, if convicted, the charge will appear on your record. This may cause serious problems when applying for a job, obtaining a security clearance, and applying to schools.
What does this all mean? Due to the serious consequences resulting from a reckless driving charge it is important to fight the charge. Fighting the charge in court can allow for your charge to be reduced to a mere traffic violation or, potentially, an outright dismissal. In addition, there are numerous defenses that may be available to you such as incorrect calibration of the automobile or radar and lack of evidence.
If you received a ticket for Reckless Driving, or are interested in knowing more, give us a call at 757-656-1000 or email firstname.lastname@example.org and we will get you a copy of our book How Much Trouble Am I in Now? The Shocking Truth about Reckless Driving in Virginia.